Home | Digital Fife | Text mode | Mobile
Banner 1240

A guide to Kilconquhar


Winner of ‘Best Wee Village in Fife since 2009 in the Beautiful Fife campaign and Best Wee Village in Scotland’ in the Beautiful Scotland Awards since 2011.The Community Group are entering both these campaigns in 2014.

 Kilconquhar dates from as far back as the 12th century.

Ours is a very friendly community that sits on the banks of Kilconquhar Loch, to the north of Elie. Just a few hundred yards away is the ‘clachan’, or small village of Barnyards.

There are several possible derivations of the village's name including 'Kil' which is a name associated with early churches and Kilconquhar which comes from Conquhar or Connacher, alernatively the Scottish Gaelic: Cill Dúnchad or Conchad, Church of (St) Duncan or Conchad.

During the 18th century Kilconquhar was renowned as a centre for weaving, unfortunately today the industry is no longer in evidence. Much of the land surrounding the village is agricultural or woodland. This provides an ideal habitat for a wide variety of indigenous and visiting flora and fauna, much of which can be viewed from the special boardwalk that winds through the Barnyard Marshes.

 

Some of our community working on keeping the village beautiful.

The smiles on the faces tell a story.

Even the dog's having fun.

A lot of thought goes into everything we do.

 More detailed information about Kilconquhar is available in the book 'Kilconquhar - A Hidden Gem' which can be ordered from Irene Wallace. 
Home | Log in WebSpringer maintenance Variables